Transcendent Sex in Literature

In my book of short stories, Naked Morsels, there are a few mentions of a blending, ecstatic experience where not only the lovers blend together, but they are merged with the beauty and awesomeness of the Universe/Spirit/Divine.  I have experienced this and it is so beautiful and so wonderful that I hope that by sharing the description that others may be able to reach there too.  Either you recognize what I’m talking about, or it sounds a bit crazy, so I was reassured to find others that describe this experience.

Dr. Jenny Wade had a similar sort of transcendent occurrence, which caused her to research it.  Her estimation is about 1 in 10 people have had this sort of transcendent event during lovemaking.  She wrote a book on it called, Transcendent Sex; When Lovemaking Opens the Veil.  Dr. Wade mentions an experience of a woman named Jenna, who described it as,

“Something clicked and I completely lost my sense of self,’ she says. ‘It’s hard to explain. It was as though I was transported outside my body and I lost myself, but simultaneously discovered something far bigger. I didn’t have any sense of “me” at all. Afterwards, I remember lying in Mike’s arms, tears running down my cheeks, suffused with a feeling of love for him and for everything. I don’t think I’ve ever had such an intense emotional experience, and it left me feeling incredibly centred, positive and strong.”

This is rather similar to my experience.  It caused me to look into the ancient teachings of Tantra.  I’ve read a little about this teaching from India, but I haven’t found a book that has really clicked with me on the subject.  There are a few spiritual teachers out there, who do touch on the subject, such as Osho.

“When love expresses through you it first expresses as the body. It becomes sex. If it expresses through the mind, which is higher, deeper, subtler, then it is called love. If it expresses through the spirit, it becomes prayer….
If everything goes well and sex is natural and flowing it is a beautiful experience because you can have a glimpse of the second through it. If sex goes really very deep, so that you forget yourself completely in it, you can even have a glimpse of the third through it. And if sex becomes a total orgasmic experience, there are rare moments when you can even have a glimpse of the fourth, the turiya, the beyond, through it.” – Osho

I guess that’s what inspired me to write my short stories in the first place.  In most books of erotica, I just found them to be rather devoid of emotional and spiritual connection, yet to me, that was one of the most important parts.  I’d love to hear of others who may have had a transcendent experience like this.

– Robin Rumi